The Typical Guest

Thoughts on a Mediterranean Cruise // The Typical Guest.

It didn’t take me long to realise that I was by far one of the youngest people on the ship. I only had to look around for a few moments before finding myself amidst a flock of people at least triple my own age. I guess it had never occurred to me that the majority of guests on these cruises are old-aged-pensioners wanting to splash their retirement funds on one of many glamorous holidays. I soon came to the conclusion that I was not the typical guest.

Amongst a few patronising comments such as “Ooh, so is this your first cruise then?” and the classic “In my day…” I found myself among two very different kinds of people. There were the down-to-earth chatty folks who wanted to know everything about you and smiled at all the waiters, and then there were the stiff-upper-lip couples who didn’t talk much, acted above their crowd rather a lot, and when they did open their mouths it was only to complain about the food or the service.

I felt rather astonished at the way some people felt at liberty to complain about the so-called ‘sloppy’ standards of such luxurious cuisine and accommodation. I mean how can you do that?! Okay, I work in a restaurant so I’m always going to be on the waiter’s side, but these people were just being ridiculous. This was a 5-star cruise ship and the staff worked their butts off to make it the best it possibly could be. If they weren’t satisfied with that, there’s not much in this world which could please them!

Until next time,

El x

One thought on “The Typical Guest

Leave a Reply

