Being a Student of God

Starting Uni is terrifying. I’m not going to sugar-coat it, not right now. One of the things that made it all the more terrifying, for me, was being a Christian.

Straight away, you’re out clubbing with people you don’t know, or have known for a maximum of a few hours. They want you to drink, play games, talk about sex, kiss strangers in clubs. It’s one of the hardest things in the world to keep yourself real in times like these. To take a step back and try your best not to get sucked into that world, even though you are living in it.

I’ll admit, I didn’t do a great job of staying real myself. I messed up, bad, but that’s for another time…

But you know what? Even though it is scary and ridiculously bizarre and out of this world, it is amazing. Oh, how it blows my mind. The people I have met, the experiences I have had, the person I have become.

My advice to you: do what will make you happy, and what will make God happy. Join the Christian Union, FOR GOODNESS SAKE sign up to it, if it’s the only thing you commit to! I will honestly say, without a shadow of a doubt, the Christian Union has pretty much saved my life. It has been a constant reminder of who I am, who I want to be, and the fact that God is at the centre of it all.

The friends I have made through the Christian Union and church have become my family. I have a lot of friends at Uni and I’m thankful for every single one of them, but no one truly gets me as much as the Chrissa bunch do.

You can be a Christian and not get involved with the Christian Union, but you will never know the feeling of being in a room full of people who fully understand you, love you and want to support you. You will miss out so much on the community feeling which is so important in our faith. We love God and we love each other. Most importantly, we love everyone on campus, and try to tell them about this amazing God guy who has the power to save us all from everything that is bad in this world. Some people won’t listen, and that’s ok. But it’s our job to try.

Basically, what I’m trying to say is, being a Christian at Uni is hard, it is so damn hard. But it is also so worth it. You get so much out of it. Friends, family, faith.

I have grown so much in less than a year, because of my faith and my friends and the things I have learned. I guess I just want anyone reading this to know, if you’re a Christian or not, that it’s an amazing life God has given us, so stick with your faith, or at least look into it. After all, God is so amazing, how could you not?

 

‘But to all who did receive him, who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God’ – John 1:12

 

Stay cool,

El x

3 thoughts on “Being a Student of God

  1. I just recently decided to become a Christian. I found a local church which I love and began to go. I want to become a member of the church. My point is I enjoyed your post and makes it easier to be myself and sticking by my decision.

    Like

    1. Hi, that is so great to hear! I would really encourage you to keep going to church and meet as many like-minded people as you can! I’ll be posting more frequently on this topic over summer so stay tuned 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

